Tags

, , , , ,

Happy Thanksgiving 2013! | Books, Cupcakes, and Cats Chasing Chipmunks

Today is Thanksgiving Day in the United States, a day to be thankful for what we have, the goals we have reached and the friends and family we have around us.
As a way to celebrate, families usually gather and cook a lovely and bountiful meal that often contains turkey, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce, and pumpkin or pecan pie (those are some of the traditional dishes served, there are many others!).

Today is also the first day of Hanukkah, the Jewish Festival of Lights.

This year is a very special year, since Thanksgiving Day and the first day of Hanukkah happen on the same day. This will only happen again in… 70,000 years! Hence today has been dubbed “Thanksgivukkah” or another combination of the words Thanksgiving and Hanukkah.

I don’t have any specific pictures for Thanksgiving this year because for some reason that I am having a hard time understanding, we went straight from Halloween to Christmas decorations and not much has inspired me to illustrate Thanksgiving (except for the turkey above, spotted at Walmart). Last year I had hungry squirrels and the bountifulness of the Union Square Farmers Market. (I must add that I haven’t tried any Austin Farmers Market yet, just the one closest to where we live outside Austin, and it is nothing close to what I was used to at Union Square. But again, I can’t tell for Austin.)

I feel terribly sad to have missed – twice! – the Thanksgiving Parade in New York for lack of courage to go out. Of course, now that I am not there anymore (Don’t it always seem to go… yes! And yes I know Joni Mitchell’s is the original version, but I like this one), I feel bad even more that I did not seize the occasion when I could. Lesson learned.

Sky in Pace Bend Park - Travis County, Texas | Books, Cupcakes, and Cats Chasing Chipmunks

I wish each and every one of you a Happy Thanksgiving, or a Happy Hanukkah, or both, and a wonderful day to those celebrating neither! May you see the reasons to be thankful in your life!

