Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I know, I know, it’s not summer yet, but we’re getting closer.

The weather has been kind of strange lately in New York: sun and rain almost everyday, with temperatures varying from the 70s to the 50s, and the other way around. Nevertheless, every ray of sunshine gets me in a summer mood that make me crave fruits and vegetables. I think I could eat only fruits and veggies during the summer time.

Look at this beauty I found at the supermarket yesterday: a Sicilian eggplant!

I have a couple of ideas on what to do with it, but any suggestion is welcome :-)

So to go back to vegetables, I felt like starting the day with something both fresh and healthy, but that can still get me through the entire morning. The truth is I rarely think about adding vegetables to my eggs in the morning. I know that is stupid, because it’s quick and easy, gives some freshness to the eggs and it is also beautiful. Must be the lack of coffee ;-)

So this morning I made a zucchini omelette.

The picture doesn’t do justice to the omelette. It was both fresh and fulfilling. All I had to do is cut about 1/3 of a zucchini in thin slices. Cook them for about 3-5 minutes with a little oil. Take one egg, beat it with a fork and add it to the pan, atop the zucchini. Add salt, pepper, and a little Parmesan cheese if you wish. Et voilà !

Then, when lunch came, the cucumber left in my fridge cried (seriously ;-) for me to use it to try what we’ve been seeing all around the internet these days: a version of this. I had been willing to try a simple version with what I had at home. And it gave me this. Fishy cucumbers.

The play on words isn’t purely coincidental (and I just realized it’s going to be impossible to translate into French!). My husband had a suspicious look at the little dried anchovies. “Do we eat this?” I bet the cats would have been less suspicious if they had been around.

The dried anchovies are actually quite good, though not spectacular as far as I’m concerned. But I think they make a nice food decoration. Inside the cucumber was tuna mixed with Philadelphia cream cheese.

Fresh. Colorful. Yummy. That’s how I love my summers! How about you?