Tags

, , , , , , ,

I first heard about Hanukkah when spending my first Christmas in the United States (and yes, it was in NYC, 11 years ago).

We are not Jewish and we know little about Jewish traditions beyond was is common knowledge. Hanukkah is not as openly celebrated in France as in the U.S. Living in the U.S. and New York gives me an occasion to learn about it.

Hanukkah this year begins tonight, on December 8, and will end on Sunday, December 16. You can learn more here.

A group of cat bloggers is also organizing a Chanukah Blog Crawl, also a good and original way to learn more.

Below are pictures I took of Menorahs in public places in NYC.

Madison Square Park - December 2012

Madison Square Park – December 2012

Madison Square Park - December 2012

Madison Square Park – December 2012

Park Ave, around 35th St - December 2012

Park Ave, around 35th St – December 2012

Park Ave, around 35th St - December 2012

Park Ave, around 35th St – December 2012

I don’t know whether I have many Jewish readers, but here is my occasion to wish you a

Happy Hanukkah!