Tags

, , , , , , ,

The day the Cronut left New York.

Okay, I’ll admit it: this sentence is a little (too?) dramatic.

Yes, you can still have a Cronut in New York, I guess (Sigh: I’m not there anymore). Now you can have a Cronut – or at least something that claims to be a Cronut – in many places around the U.S. and possibly the world, too. Is the Cronut craze going worldwide?

You tell me.

I was told you could get Cronuts in Dallas, TX. You can certainly have them in Cincinnati among other places… For a croissant sake! You can find them around the world! (I know Mom, not in Paris. Not in Austin either.)

For those who cannot find them (or get in the line at 5.30 am at Dominique Ansel’s Bakery), you can also find recipes online like this one or by following this simple recipe at Fashion Cooking here.

That’s the beauty of the market: people come up with great new ideas to make our taste buds happy. Competition brings choice and the new products to more people.

If I could have tried a Cronut from Dominique Ansel’s Bakery without needing to be there at 5.30 am for an hour or two waiting – because the number of Cronuts baked were limited to create, or at least encourage, the craze – I would have stuck to the real thing: Ansel’s Cronut. I don’t blame Ansel: it’s a good idea to create a buzz around a product and nobody is forced to wait in line anyway. I surely didn’t.

Like I mentioned in my post on Ansel’s bakery, I went for the next best thing: Cronut-like pastries from an Italian bakery in Westchester County, NY.

Enrico’s Pastry Shop and Caffe of Hartsdale, NY - Cronut-like and other patries | Books Cupcakes and Cats Chasing Chipmunks

Enrico’s Pastry Shop is located in Hartsdale, NY, in Westchester county (about 1 hour from Manhattan by train).

When I visited the bakery, I was interested in the “Westchester’s Answer to the New York Cronut:” not only were there plenty of them, but there were several flavors too.

[Yes, you can click on the pics to enlarge them, but be warned that it may make you hungry. Please don’t blame me for salivating on your keyboard]

Enrico’s Pastry Shop and Caffe of Hartsdale, NY - Cronut-like and other patries | Books Cupcakes and Cats Chasing Chipmunks

One was topped with Nutella (definitely a favorite). I love the lemon with salted caramel. We tried the Madagascar vanilla bean with raspberry topping too. Yummy!

Enrico’s Pastry Shop and Caffe of Hartsdale, NY - Cronut-like and other patries | Books Cupcakes and Cats Chasing Chipmunks

Enrico’s Pastry Shop and Caffe of Hartsdale, NY - Cronut-like and other patries | Books Cupcakes and Cats Chasing Chipmunks

Enrico’s Pastry Shop and Caffe of Hartsdale, NY - Cronut-like and other patries | Books Cupcakes and Cats Chasing Chipmunks

No, they don’t look exactly like the Ansel Cronuts you’ve seen. Whatever, really. These things were extremely good: rich but not to the point of not being able to finish one in one tasting. I paid $2.50 each if I remember well.

We tried them in July, so we didn’t have the time to go back to Enrico’s bakery. Too bad because there were many other cakes that looked equally delicious.

Enrico’s Pastry Shop and Caffe of Hartsdale, NY - Cronut-like and other patries | Books Cupcakes and Cats Chasing Chipmunks

Enrico’s Pastry Shop and Caffe of Hartsdale, NY - Cronut-like and other patries | Books Cupcakes and Cats Chasing Chipmunks

If you get the chance, give this bakery a try!

Enrico’s Pastry Shop and Caffe
214 E Hartsdale Ave
Hartsdale, NY

