Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Alexandre Arrechea Sculptures - NYC | Books, Cupcakes, and Cats Chasing Chipmunks

Metropolitan Life Insurance Building by Alexandre Arrechea with the real MetLife Insurance Building in the background – at the foot of the Flatiron Building – July 2013

* “Love may not make the world go round, but I must admit that it makes the ride worthwhile.” — Sean Connery

And a New York ride is always worthwhile as far as I’m concerned. Did I hear someone ask whether I missed New York? Hell yes, I do! But I am concentrating my energy on building the future, rather than lamenting on the past. Plus I have beautiful memories, and the will to go back there one day.

This sculpture was part of an exhibition by Cuban artist Alexandre Arrechea.

Unfortunately I have seen and photographed only two of the three sculptures that were in the Flatiron/Union Square area of the city. More here:

Three sculptures showing iconic New York buildings twisted into whimsical shapes just went on display in Flatiron and Union Square.

The large-scale metal artworks, by Cuban artist Alexandre Arrechea, were among the 10 pieces that dotted Park Avenue on the Upper East Side earlier this year as part of the city’s “No Limits” installation. That exhibit ended June 9, but three standout pieces moved south to continue their run.

Here are more of the Metropolitan Life Insurance Building Sculpture. You can click on any picture in this post to enlarge it.

The second one is a representation of the Sherry-Netherland Hotel.

Alexandre Arrechea Sculptures - NYC | Books, Cupcakes, and Cats Chasing Chipmunks

Sherry-Netherland Hotel by Alexandre Arrechea – Union Square – July 2013

