Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Last March, I wrote a post about our visit to the beautiful Cranberry Lake Preserve and how it had been affected by Sandy. You can read the post here.

Cranberry Lake Preserve - White Plains, NY - June 2013 | Books, Cupcakes, and Cats Chasing Chipmunks

I received several messages following this post, including in the comments, notably updating me on how the place was being cleaned of the debris and damages made by Sandy.

More recently, I received a email letting me know that “David Licata, a local glass artist, [wa]s installing glass orchids throughout the park inspired by the locally growing Pink Ladyslipper Orchid.” He is giving tours and the exhibition was supposed to last until December 1st. Unfortunately, upon checking Mr. Licata’s website, it seems that the orchids had to be removed due to vandalism. But he will display some during his tours. Please click on the links for more details, on Mr Licata’s website.

I have not seen this exhibition and will not be able to see it since, as you know if you’ve been following me for more than 6 months, I have now moved from New York to Texas. But you might want to see it!

I also thought it would be the occasion to update my March post by pictures we took on our second visit to Cranberry Lake Preserve in June.

[Click on any picture to enlarge and open the slideshow]