Tags

, , , ,

The first time I saw a raccoon was without a doubt in the Japanese cartoon Candy – which tells you something about my age!

(This is the French version of the theme.)

Although raccoons have been introduced in Europe, it’s very rare to see them in France. In fact, I had never seen a real one before moving to the U.S. This little American carnivore with a mischievous look is easily recognizable thanks to its striped tail and the black eye “mask” that covers its eyes. As you know, this mask, its naughty attitude, and its habit of stealing food, notably from our pets, earned him the nickname “bandit.”

(Don’t miss the end of the video!)

Of course, when I moved to the U.S., I was eager to see a real one! I know they are not always loved here, because they can carry rabies, be aggressive, and they steal food! Still, I can see how many people still find them cute in some way (Like this story demonstrates).

When we lived in New York, we could often hear them during the night. But my first real “encounter” with a raccoon was in Texas, after I had left some cat food outside.

Raccoon visiting | Books, Cupcakes, and Cats Chasing Chipmunks

This picture was taken just before the “little” guy ran away, a December night. The next morning, I surprised the raccoon its hand in the bowl of kibbles. First the raccoon didn’t move, hand still in bowl, as if thinking “if I don’t move, she won’t see me!” but then the raccoon left.

I’m telling you this story because one of my favorite links from the week is a raccoon story: A Raccoon Broke Into a Car to Give Birth.

Other links:

From two weeks ago: I really liked this blog post on how sometimes you have to trust yourself, you have to realize that it is all it takes to go through challenges and accomplish what you want to accomplish. Ready good read for a Sunday morning, I think!

Do you want to know your future? Here are 16 words that tell the future.

Here’s an article about the importance of eating a balanced diet vs. just the goal of losing weight.

How much do you think your favorite singers lip-sync? This article seems to suggest a LOT.

Finally, for those of you that just can’t stop learning, here are “43 free career-advancing courses you can take (and actually finish) this summer.”

That’s all I have for this week. Wishing everyone a lovely Sunday and a productive week!

